Hollow Creek Tree Farm began entering trees in the SC Christmas Tree Association's annual contest at the SC State Fair back in 1985.  Over the years we have won over 60 ribbons including 29 First Place finishes and 3 Best of Show.  In 1998, we were also a runner-up at the National contest in Asheville, NC.

Owner Mike McCartha (proudly standing at right with 2014 Blue Ribbon Leyland Cypress) is a President Emeritus of the SC Christmas Tree Association and has won the SC Christmas Tree Grower of the Year award twice, 1998 & 2006.


  • SC Grand Champion (Leyland Cypress) 2004
  • SC Grand Champion (Leyland Cypress) 2009
  • SC Grand Champion (Thuja 'Green Giant') 2011
  • 1st Place Leyland Cypress, State Fair 2012
  • Runner-up, National Contest, Asheville, NC 1998
  • SC Christmas Tree Grower of the Year 1998
  • SC Christmas Tree Grower of the Year 2006
  • Over 60 total ribbons at SC State Fair since 1985